Chad and Jessica’s Whimsical Forest Wedding

 IMG_2413

Sunday May 24, 2015 I made the wedding cake for my brother and his best friend, life partner, and now wife, Jessica. It was a sweet and small ceremony, very much their style. Just close family and very close friends. They wanted a non-traditional cake, cheesecake to be exact. So we compromised and I came up with a velvet cake with baked cheesecake layers as the filling. It was extremely indulgent, but just what they wanted! if there is any day you can get away with over indulging it would definitely be your wedding day.

They had a sweet love-bird topper and a stylized birch tree cake with small ivy vines climbing up the two layers. I realized a little too late that I did not have a leaf shaped cutter for the fondant leaves, so I went out and found a small mint leaf from the garden and pressed it into my fondant to create the veining. I then used a small heart shaped cutter i did have to make the leaves, I dried them pressed gently up against a jar lid so that they would dry with some shape and not be so flat. It made really cute leaves!

IMG_2418

Leave a Reply

